year by year highlights-3


In 2010 the race was won by Dean Cook with 7:38:18. Dean was and likely still is a PT in the Army. He was built like a proverbial outhouse and had the appearance of a wrestler more so than a runner. But this man worked and worked and worked. His first attempt was the GC100 in 2007 when he ran 8:38:04. He tried again in 2008 when he ran 8:06:38. Then the 7:38:18 in 2010. He represented Australia at the world 100 kms championships in 2007 (7:38), 2008 (7:47), 2009 (7:50) and 2010 (7:49). His career is a prime example of what hard work and dedication can achieve. The women’s section was won by Kerrie Bremner with 8:55:45. Kerrie’s performances were reviewed in the 2008 write-up above. Special mention of Chris Hills who ran the 50 kms event in a blistering 3:12:45 which was pretty special for that course.

Full results 2010

Again, I was overseas on business for much of the year and was unable to organise the race. Thanks again to Peter Hall and Marina Whittle for keeping it going. No photos... sorry. The images below are from 2008.


Dean Cook (2008)


Kerrie Bremner (2008)


David Eadie won the race with 8:02:48. This was David’s 3rd appearance and all runs were class runs. David/s performances were reviewed under 2008.

For me, the standout performance was Tressa Lindenberg’s 8:08:48, placing 1st female and 2nd overall. At the time, this was the 2nd fastest time by a woman on Australian soil, just behind Jackie Fairweather’s 7:48:51 in 2009. Tressa represented Australia later that year in the world championships at Winschoten where she achieved 9:18:11. It was to be her last 100 kms race. She worked so hard with tight hamstrings that she tore the attachments from the pelvic area. An athlete with great potential but stricken with a crippling injury. She recovered sufficiently to take up boxing, where she excelled. Special mention also of 2nd placed female, Marita Eisler, with a very creditable 9:10:33 for her first race over the distance. More on Marita later.

Full results 2011
David Eadie 3_450x600

David Eadie

David Eadie_450x600

David Eadie with son Lucas


Tressa Lindenberg


Marita Eisler

Jason Dunn_450x600

Jason Dunn

Mal Gamble_450x600

Mal Gamble


This was the first year of the race start/finish being moved from Kurrawa to Burleigh. It eliminated the Miami hill at about the 5 kms mark and the Point Danger hill at around the 24 kms mark. It also avoided the market precinct at Coolangatta. So, the old course was 25 down and 25 back, do it twice for a 100. The new course was 12.5 down and 12.5 back times 4 for 100 kms. The new course was relatively flat and traffic free so high hopes were held for it to prove a little faster.

The race was a great battle between Martin Lukes from New Zealand and GC100 regular, David Eadie from Melbourne. Martin went through the halfway mark in 3:30 and looked set for a cracker day. David was not that far behind with 3:41. Martin’s 3rd 25 kms split was 1:51 compared to David’s 2:04. However, in the last 25 kms Martin slowed rapidly. David knew where he was and picked up the pace finishing the split with 2:00 compared to Martin’s 2:22. The end result was that Martin won with 7:44:21 with David hot on his heels with 7:46:16. The conditions were wet and the race was a delight to witness.

The women’s section was won by Marita Eisler in 9:13 with Nikki Wynd 2nd in 9:23 and Natalie Wallace with 9:43. Jason Dunn was 3rd placed male with 8:33. The number of entrants was 22.

Full results 2012
Martin Lukes_450x600

Martin Lukes

David Eadie_450x600

David Eadie


Marita Eisler

Nikki Wynd_450x600

Nikki Wynd


Natalie Wallace


Sarah Joyce

Cassie Smith_450x600

Cassie Smith


Jordan Bishop & Delina Rahmate


Kelvin Marshall


Ken Marsh

Keith Sullivan_450x600

Keith Sullivan


Mal Gamble